What does the Update button on the Work Toolbar do?
I notice that on the work toolbar on each work item, there is an "Update" button. I am wondering what the purpose of that button is, but I can't find any information on it. What I am wondering is can we use that to allow users to make data updates/corrections to a work item after the case is closed? We are running in to issues with users having to constantly re-open cases to make these updates, and then it creates problems with timing and reporting. Any help would be appreciated!
***Edited by moderator, Maryrita: moved to Product Support Community from Business Architects Community***
Hi - Can you please provide info on what version of Pega and/or Strategic Application you are using to help confirm / provide a better answer?
I do recall the update button in a Pega 6 application I worked on, I think it was more to get from "review mode" to "perform mode" so I don't think it would do what you are looking for as configured out of the box, if we are thinking of the same thing.
For your situation, I would try to do some analysis as to why the information is being updated after the case is closed. Are you capturing a reason for these reopens? These reasons might help you understand if the cases are being closed too early, or perhaps a case / process step was missed...not sure just throwing out some ideas.
We are currently using 7.2, although this was an upgrade from 6.0. The reopens are mostly due to either data entry errors (which we are working to correct) or after-the-fact updates (e.g. after the case is closed, someone calls in with a question/update that needs to be recorded).