Yes when the Assignment has been picked up by a user, it is assigned to that user and it will be added to the users worklist automatically and once it is in a operators worklist. I think it can not be picked up by others unless the operator himself reassigns the task or given access through access manager or has privilege to do it
Thanks for your answer. At my current project, once a User/Operator A who has access to Work Queue 'ReviewWQ1' logs into the User portal, Operator A can view items in 'ReviewWQ1' and can make edits to WorkObject 'WO-1'. After half an hour when PEGA releases the lock on WO-1, a different Operator B (who has access to Work Queue 'ReviewWQ1' ) can also view the same WO-1 item in the same 'ReviewWQ1' and also make edits to the same WO-1 which Operator A worked on.
How is this possible, if WO-1 is in Operator A's private Worklist? Should not a Work Queue Manager actually move the WO-1 back to the ReviewWQ1 WorkBasket and ONLY then Operator B should be able to edit WO-1?
Seeing this behavior is why I am asking the question when a WO is opened by an Operator, whether the WO will be automatically routed to the Work List of that operator? If it is, Operator B should NOT be able to edit WO-1 right? As I am observing the above behavior, (where two operators can edit the same Work Object) I am suspecting that any operator can make edits to a Work Object in a WorkQueue that the operator has access to and the WO will NOT be moved to the operator's WorkList automatically. Can some one confirm this? I am on PEGA 8.4.
I ran some tests a while ago to confirm my understanding of this and this is how I remember it operating:
When user A opens the assignment it is put into their worklist. If user A then successfully saves the flow action (not submit but save) then they have essentially taken ownership. If they cancel without save then it is returned to the Work Queue it originally came from. Obviously if it submitted then the assignment is resolve.
I think what you are observing is that user A is never actually saving the assignment so when their session timeouts it is essentially "cancelling" the flow action and it returns to the original work queue it came from as it did in my tests. If I have this correct then the second user would not see any changes made by user A as they never did save those changes to the clipboard, can you confirm the second user does not see user A's changes?
Thanks Cecil for actually taking the time out to recreate the scenario. My understanding is the same as yours (WO becomes part of User's WL once the user takes ownership of the WO) and hence when I observed the behavior that I was seeing (about multiple people being able to access as well as edit the same WO) I posted the question.
As user B, I am able to actually see the edits done on the WO by user A even though the WO is still with user A. User A has NOT submitted the WO but rather saved it. Is this a configuration issue of how my current project is set up or is this the Default OOTB behavior in PEGA 8.4?